Cover-Club-History
titre-rever

Paris Saint-Germain was born on 12 August 1970 and the fusion of Paris FC – created a year earlier to fill the void of having no top-flight club in the capital – and Stade Sangermanois, founded in 1904 in Saint-Germain-en-Laye, the birth town of Louis XIV.

history

Thanks to the support of the capital's media and 20,000 subscribers, 'socios' from the very beginning, Paris finally had a football team that took flight in 1973, when fashion designer Daniel Hechter took over the club and designed its classic jersey. Coached by French football legend Just Fontaine, PSG won promotion to the first division a year later and slowly began attracting the first stars of Les Rouge et Bleu such as Mustapha Dahleb and Carlos Bianchi.

In 1978, Daniel Hechter handed control of the club to Francis Borelli, under whose guidance Les Rouge et Bleu won their first silverware: the Coupe de France in 1982 and 1983 and the league in 1986, during a decade marked by players such as Safet Susic, Luis Fernandez and Dominique Rocheteau.

history

Canal+ took over the club in 1991, and propelled PSG to the forefront of the European game. Between 1993 and 1997, the club from the French capital made five European semi-finals in a row. Led by football icons David Ginola, George Weah and Valdo, amongst others, PSG won a second league title in 1994, two years before lifting the UEFA Cup Winners Cup.

The European trophy was the crowning moment of this generation, and the emblematic Rai, Bernard Lama, Alain Roche, Paul Le Guen, Daniel Bravo, Vincent Guérin, Youri Djorkaeff and Bruno Ngotty, the goal scorer in the final against Rapid Vienna, in Brussels.

history

At the start of the 21st century, there were new stars... but despite the magic of Ronaldinho and the goals of Pedro Pauleta (109 goals), PSG struggled to rescale the heights. Before changing stratosphere in 2011, with the arrival of new owners, Qatar Sports Investments and Chairman and CEO Nasser Al-Khelaïfi. They established an extremely ambitious project, incarnated by Zlatan Ibrahimovic, the club's all-time leading goal scorer (156 goals between 2012 and 2016) and today, by Edinson Cavani and Marco Verratti; a project that has one aim: to take Paris Saint-Germain to the summits of the European game, having already transformed Les Rouge et Bleu into the most successful French club in history, with 32 trophies, including 14 since the arrival of QSI.

Paris Saint-Germain is also PSG Handball (10 national titles since 2012) and the Women's football team, twice finalists of the UEFA Women's Champions League.

Football, handball and the Women's team; three professional sections all fighting at the very pinnacle of European sport and that epitomise the Paris Saint-Germain motto: Dream Bigger…

stats

Cover-Club-History
titre-rever

Le Paris Saint-Germain a vu le jour le 12 août 1970, fruit de la fusion entre un Paris FC créé un an plus tôt pour combler l’absence d’un club de haut niveau dans la capitale, et le Stade Sangermanois, fondé en 1904 à Saint-Germain-en- Laye, ville natale du Roi Louis XIV.

history

Grâce à l’appui des médias et de 20 000 souscripteurs, « socios » de la première heure, Paris se dote d’une équipe qui va prendre son essor, en 1973, lorsque le club est repris par le couturier Daniel Hechter, qui dessinera son maillot. Entraîné par Just Fontaine, une gloire du football national, le PSG accède à la Première Division un an plus tard et va peu à peu attirer ses premières stars telles que Mustapha Dahleb et Carlos Bianchi.

En 1978, Daniel Hechter cède la place à Francis Borelli, dont la présidence sera celle des premiers titres conquis par le jeune club rouge et bleu, les Coupes de France 1982 et 1983 et le titre de champion de France en 1986, au cœur d’une décennie illuminée par les figures de Safet Susic, Luis Fernandez et Dominique Rocheteau.

history

Plus tard, l’ère Canal+, qui s’ouvre en 1991, propulse le PSG dans la sphère des grands clubs européens : entre 1993 et 1997, le club participe à cinq demi-finales continentales d’affilée. Au passage, porté par la grâce des David Ginola, George Weah et autre Valdo, le PSG glane un nouveau titre de champion de France, en 1994, deux ans avant de soulever son premier trophée européen, la Coupe des Vainqueurs de Coupe.

Un titre qui scelle l’apothéose de la génération incarnée par Rai, Bernard Lama, Alain Roche, Paul Le Guen, Daniel Bravo, Vincent Guérin, Youri Djorkaeff et Bruno Ngotty, inoubliable buteur en finale face au Rapid de Vienne, à Bruxelles.

history

Au début du XXIe siècle, malgré les éclairs de Ronaldinho et les buts en cascade de Pedro Pauleta (109 buts), le PSG peine à retrouver son éclat. Avant de basculer dans un autre monde, en 2011, à l’arrivée de Qatar Sports Investments et de son président Nasser Al-Khelaïfi. Un projet extrêmement ambitieux, incarné par Zlatan Ibrahimovic, meilleur buteur dans l’histoire du club (156 buts de 2012 à 2016) et aujourd’hui par Edinson Cavani et Marco Verratti, et qui poursuit avec détermination un horizon lumineux : porter le Paris Saint-Germain au sommet de l’Europe, après en avoir déjà fait le club français le plus titré du haut de ses 32 titres, dont 14 depuis l’arrivée de QSI.

Le Paris Saint-Germain, c’est aussi le PSG Handball (10 titres nationaux depuis 2012) et la section féminine, double finaliste de la Ligue des champions.

Football, handball et féminines, trois sections désormais au sommet du sport européen et qui incarne à merveille la devise du Paris Saint-Germain : rêvons plus grand…

stats-trophees